Reflections on “Great Falls, Virginia!”‘s Kindle-ization at Amazon.com

Writing true fiction feels so natural when it’s just you and your words in a solitary place, sharing your past together with nobody else there to judge, comment, raise an eyebrow, smile fakely or even challenge what you remember and how you remember it. That’s why I write true fiction – because it doesn’t have to be anything but what I remember and how I remember it. True fiction gives you that freedom.

So now I’ve released “Great Falls, Virginia!” as a Kindle on Amazon.com. No tagbacks, no ducking, no escape from the future that I’ve created in the now because I’ve chosen to share and release my past.

It’s a road full of misadventures and mistakes, glories, epiphanies and transcendance out of the ashes of yesterday to where I am today, still on a road dealing with those ashes but with hopefully a better perspective about where I’ve been and what I’ve learned over time.

Sharing my road’s story is my way of giving those just starting out some perspective and hopefully better awareness that their choices -even the seemingly small ones – can turn out to have major consequences.

Yes, “Great Falls, Virginia!” is my own personal story, but its genesis was in the tragedy of my daughter’s high school friend, Roberta whose boyfriend killed her on the eve of high school graduation. She became a victim, not just because she trusted the wrong guy, but because her need to belong was stronger than her love of self and her sense of self-worth.

Her fate could just as easily have been mine since my choices were similarly based on how to achieve belonging even at the expense of my own aspirations and self-validation. The overwhelming emotional toll wasn’t totally at the hands of my daughter’s dad, it was also by my own giving up of my worth as a human being and my choices that validated his needs over my own hopes and dreams.

Eventually each of us is revisited by our youthful choices.

For those whose choices have been made wisely or with intellectual forethought, most likely your paths have led or will lead to a successful future or at least a manageable outcome.

For those like myself who have made choices based on emotions and need, the outcomes have not always been as brilliant and, even though life most often has a way of straightening itself out, that rough patch of “emo” always remains a percolating part of one’s past.

“Great Falls, Virginia!” is the true fiction mea culpa of my young adult patch of “emo”. I look forward to sharing it for the sake of those who will read its message and save themselves from the pain of the same lessons. I also hope that the readers will choose to love who they are and who they believe they can become instead of settling on belonging to those who embrace only their own needs and aspirations.

Love your road, and yourself as you travel it. Make you your best, most valued choice.

About kristisez

I am a writer/photographer with multiple projects and leanings. Most of my topics and content are generated from my own circumstances - either then or now. I love beauty, color and stories with heart, depth and spirit. These are the elements I attempt to include in all my work. Explore for yourself what I'm about when you read my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

