Adventure in Choices – Now That I’m 64!

Seriously? I’m that old? The Beatles’ song “When I’m 64” finally came true for me? Wow! I suppose it could be worse. I might look or act 64 – whatever that is.

I remember on my 50th birthday there was a mature adult event at a local hotel in Denver where I was living at the time – in Denver, not at the hotel. Basically, the place took all the rock standards of our day – Stairway to Heaven, Twist and Shout, Good Lovin’ – all the old rockin’ tunes of the 60’s and 70’s – and then had everybody show up in their cocktail attire and dance like it was a flippin’ cotillion! I watched for a while out of curiosity, but I didn’t stay. I wasn’t ready to “repackage” myself and disavow my wilder, younger years for the sake of appearing more socially correct for my age, and couldn’t figure out why they would.  Choices, you know?

I left and went down to  the area of town called LoDo with all its cool and quirky clubs and hangouts, and found Brendan’s Pub. Yeah, the music pulsing out of its basement digs onto the sidewalk gave it away. All rhythm and blues classics, Motown, E W & F – played by the smokin’ hot local band Djakarta. That night – and a whole bunch of Sunday nights that followed – they saved me from becoming 50 sooner than I had to be. That and my photojournalism class at Metro State College of Denver where I ran up and down the stairs at the Capitol building, taking photos of the  legislative sessions and writing freelance stories for the Capital Reporter, Denver Post and some of the other local and college papers. Rockin’ was me!

Now I’m rockin’ the radio, rockin’ a movie – well, eventually they’ll film my scenes – and rockin’ my own world till I can maybe find someone to rock it with me. If that doesn’t happen, I didn’t lose any time waiting. Sometimes that’s the adventure of choices.  You take your leap of faith in the direction you’re drawn to and, even when you land badly, with time it can still turn out okay – even at 64!

About kristisez

I am a writer/photographer with multiple projects and leanings. Most of my topics and content are generated from my own circumstances - either then or now. I love beauty, color and stories with heart, depth and spirit. These are the elements I attempt to include in all my work. Explore for yourself what I'm about when you read my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

