Serendipity the Hard Way

Serendipity. Everyone’s had it at least once.

It’s a wonderful, joyful moment where the universe seems to be serving you a break and an experience simultaneously.

That’s what I had this afternoon but I had to seriously work for it!

No casually bumping into an old friend or making an instant cosmic connection. My serendipity involved strategy, timing and full on athleticism (such as it is). It involved multiple locations and methods of transport, sly yet earnest conversations with strangers to give me a ride up the road after I’d ridden my bicycle a mile and parked it at the library, then a bus for as far as it could take me. I still had further to go and no way to get there but to walk. Sigh.

Then I saw Vera gassing up her car at 7-11. Should I bother approaching her? This was my second convenience store in the last 15 minutes and about the third or fourth stranger I’d approached or considered approaching for a ride. Her car was “low rider” friendly without being scary. I chanced it.

I told her where I was going – just a mile up the road. A Denton transit sympathizer after only six months of being here, Vera immediately offered me a ride and not only took me to my errand but drove me all the way home – after we picked up my bike at the library.

My whole errand took under two hours. It would have been at least four hours without having crossed paths with her. Grateful didn’t even begin to cover it! An inner prayer for Vera grew wings and, even though she had refused gas money earlier, I left a $5 bill on her console as I got out. Right was right, her wanting to pay it forward or no. For what she’d shared about her own current situation, Vera needed a little serendipity herself.

And just in case I could pay it forward to her in the future, I gave Vera my business card in case anyone she knew – maybe herself – needed help with professional writing or phone calls. I promised to give anyone she sent a special “Vera” rate.

Not much of a payback for now but certainly an open possibility for serendipity up the road. Even if it’s the hard way.

About kristisez

I am a writer/photographer with multiple projects and leanings. Most of my topics and content are generated from my own circumstances - either then or now. I love beauty, color and stories with heart, depth and spirit. These are the elements I attempt to include in all my work. Explore for yourself what I'm about when you read my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

