A “Mom” Thing

Who wants to go into a brand new week thinking about, much less blogging about the negative event from a few days before?

Not me. But here I go.

That “Mom” thing happened again. At least I think that’s what it was. One of my younger peers at work “caught” me making a choice in the handling of a call that did not follow the procedures laid out for us in training. Technically, she was right but as I explained to her, the practical, more efficient way of handling the call was the path I chose, which was to find service providers closer to our customer than what the training procedure would have allowed. Time . . . money . . . best option . . . ya know?

Anyway, when she persisted in her pursuit of “by the book” feedback – mind you, she’s not my supervisor, just a fellow CSR – I thanked her for her feedback and politely ended the call.

End of call, not end of story.

I’m not really sure why it’s like this – the older worker thing. I didn’t cut her off or say she was wrong. I just didn’t agree with her take on what I chose. I mean, I myself am busy working and NOT reviewing the work of my peers (a borderline “Mom” thing to do). But she felt compelled and then, I guess, dissed that I didn’t confess, apologize, whatever. Uhhhh, next call please?

This turned into the building of a loosely formed group of other CSRs aligning themselves a couple of partitions over with my still miffed co-worker. I’m feeling the anti-Mom energy as I continue to make calls and navigate around the wall of post-pubescent angst reinforcing itself with more members, some from across the work area and almost as old as me – just not any Mom types.

What’s new about being up against undeserved attitudes and suppressed Mom hostility? Nothing. But if I’m not dishing out any “kiddo” smack downs, neither will I indulge  any smack downs meant for their own moms. Moms not even in the room!

You don’t like working with peers as old or older than your parents? Not my problem. It’s YOUR “Mom” thing, guys. Get over it! And let’s get back to work already!

 

About kristisez

I am a writer/photographer with multiple projects and leanings. Most of my topics and content are generated from my own circumstances - either then or now. I love beauty, color and stories with heart, depth and spirit. These are the elements I attempt to include in all my work. Explore for yourself what I'm about when you read my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

