The ‘Freak’ Is On!

So what are you dressing up as?

Halloween. It’s a fun way for adults to let their inner child out, but even more fun – to me anyway – is to see what everyone else’s inner child looks like when it comes out to play. Who goes for the happy, fun-loving end of the spectrum and who goes for the gory, sinister end, and does it mean something more when everyone goes back to their ‘real’ selves? Their more socially accepted selves.

I’d like to think it’s a way to get the angsty side of ourselves out when we can express it in a socially appropriate way. Like sports – only without the beer and man cave trappings. Just us in a costume expressing what would otherwise be too risky to do. Or too socially dangerous since maybe the persona we’d like to put on would bring with it baggage that we’d rather not be stuck with. This is the night where our holding the line on respecting social norms gets rewarded with a psychological ‘get out of yourself for free’ card.

So, yesterday I reprised a movie role I did a couple of years ago that still hasn’t been seen by anyone but the cast and crew – which I suppose could have made me become the pyscho nurse character in real life, but luckily it was a comedy and emotionally and mentally, I’m rarely stuck in ‘park’.

Today I’m wearin’ my leopard stripes and headband for a walk on the wild side at the call center where I work. Same as yesterday just different. I’m letting the real inner me out – but just for today. And no thank you to the baggage I’d have to deal with if I were wearing this part of my persona in a less controlled and structured environment. It’s for me to know and others to wonder about. Like I wonder about them when I see their costumes come out.

Halloween. Once a year. Oh yeah! I gotcha.

 

 

About kristisez

I am a writer/photographer with multiple projects and leanings. Most of my topics and content are generated from my own circumstances - either then or now. I love beauty, color and stories with heart, depth and spirit. These are the elements I attempt to include in all my work. Explore for yourself what I'm about when you read my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

