Still True . . .

Kristis photo rant 1

About seven years ago, I lost my driver’s license in Oregon.

Noteworthy in itself? Not so much. Well, it turned out to be for me. I’d been accepted to display an exhibit of my photography. Originally, the exhibit was going to be some abstracts of everyday objects and surfaces we see as we go about our daily activities – only highlighted to show what we most likely don’t notice around us. Still have those photos but have yet to exhibit them.

Instead, I got angry at all the hoops I had to go through to get a new driver’s license. Hadn’t left the country, hadn’t taken up with any paramilitary organization or religious cult (never falling for that one again!), hadn’t bought weapons or stalked anybody or broken any laws. But there I was with all this frustration and indignation with nowhere for it to go – until my photo rant was born. Being that 2008 was an election year helped. It brought even more focus and depth to my rant.

So, here’s the first piece of an aging, been-in-the-garage-and-to-three-states-of-the-union dimestore-funded exhibit. I’ll feature the rest individually during this week. See what you think.

Been seven years and, when you think about it, not that much has changed about us. In fact, we may be paying even less attention now than before. Media is as media does but, just like seven years ago, we don’t have to buy into it.

Just sayin’.

 

About kristisez

I am a writer/photographer with multiple projects and leanings. Most of my topics and content are generated from my own circumstances - either then or now. I love beauty, color and stories with heart, depth and spirit. These are the elements I attempt to include in all my work. Explore for yourself what I'm about when you read my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

