Workin’ The Hard Way

Most of the time work is just work.

But when I lived in the state of Oregon, work was like playing the lottery. Most of the time, it was pure chance if you came up a winner – or you were related or knew someone who could give you a job.

This was especially true for those of us job seekers over a certain age – oh, say like 45. Yeah, that bad! And discriminatory? Why bother complaining when there was no penalty for age discrimination there ‘cuz everybody did it with impunity.

So naturally, I included this topic in my rant as well. I did eventually get a job at a pizza place by the river – AMAZING view, great pizza and fun to deliver all around Eugene! Nice to find a new occupation that paid about the same – with tips – as pretty much ANY of my previous office jobs.

So, why complain again? ‘Cuz I’m sure there’s still people up there reading those standardized OED employment tests in light blue ink that’s supposed to give a “level playing field” to all ages of applicants.

Here ya go again, Oregon! Nice to be in Texas where they still hire us “geezers” over 40!

About kristisez

I am a writer/photographer with multiple projects and leanings. Most of my topics and content are generated from my own circumstances - either then or now. I love beauty, color and stories with heart, depth and spirit. These are the elements I attempt to include in all my work. Explore for yourself what I'm about when you read my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

